This panel searches content only in this space. To search content in all spaces, use the box at the upper right.


For overview information, see Discovery Environment on the CyVerse website.

DISCOVERY ENVIRONMENT USER MANUAL

 

 

 

 

 

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

As part of data sharing, you can specify the permission level the recipient has for the shared data item or analysis. This page discusses how to do it in the Discovery Environment, but you can also view permission levels for a data item using iCommands. The permission level also affects the metadata for the data item.

By default, recipients are granted read-only access to shared data items. Permission levels range from read-only, write, and own, as noted in the following tables.

 

Permission Level
(Set within the DE)1


Read


Download


Info Types


Rename


Move


Delete

  Read

  

 

 

 

 

  Write

  

  

  

 

 

  Own

  

    

  

  

1 With the 2.11 release, you now can share analysis results that used unpublished Agave apps or workflows. Unless you are an experienced Agave user, we recommend you set data permissions within the DE instead of within Agave to avoid conflicts. For more information, see Sharing and Unsharing an Analysis.

Changing the permission level for a data item in the DE

  1. In the Data window, search for the file or folder. You may want to add the Path column to view the path.
    Icon

    To perform an advanced query, such as including or excluding words in a file or folder name, searching for metadata attribute or value, file size range, created or modified date, owner, shared recipient, or tag, see Searching for Data Items.

  2. Click on the row of the data item. (You also can click either Begin sharing (if the item has not been shared) or click the numeral in the Share line (displaying the number of users with whom the item has been shared) in the Details section of the selected item.)

     Example

     

  3. In the Who has access list, find the user whose permissions you want to change for the item.

     User not listed?
    If the user is not listed, you must first share the item with the user.
  4. Click in the Permissions column for the user and change the permission according to the table above.

     Example

     

    Caution

    Icon

    Once you have shared ownership with another user, the new co-owner has full access to the item, including the ability to rename the item to a name you don't recognize, move the item to a different folder (for example, to a folder to which you don't have access), or even delete the item.
    Actions taken on a co-owned data item affect all users who have been granted rights to the item.

  5. Click Done.

Viewing the permission level for a data item in the DE

  1. Find the data item whose permission level you want to check.
  2. Click the checkbox for the item.
  3. View the permission level in the Details panel on the right.

     Example

     

    You also can view the permission levels for a data item using iCommands.

For more information on data sharing, see Sharing Data Files and Folders.