This space searches only documentation in the Atmosphere space. To search all CyVerse wiki content, use the box at the upper right.


For overview information, see Atmosphere on the CyVerse website.

Atmosphere User Manual
Icon

To keep your data safe, use a script to back up your data to the Data Store. For more information, see Backing Up and Restoring Your Data to the Data Store.

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 14 Next »

About sharing VNC sessions with another user

This page contains:

You can share a VNC session with another user, specify some access privileges, and terminate the sharing session. The new user must be a registered iPlant user.

Icon

Sharing a VNC session grants access to another person via VNC. Only give access to trusted people.
When you grant access to another person via VNC, the two of you share the same user session and login, as well as all of your user account privileges. Although you each can control what is done in the session, each person in the shared session sees the actions performed by the others who are sharing the same session.

Sharing a VNC session with another user

  1. Start a VNC session.
  2. In the VNC window, click the VNC Server (Virtual Mode) icon in the upper right of the window:
    Icon

    If the icon is not displayed, click the Applications menu in the VNC viewer, point to the Internet menu, and then click VNC Server (User-Mode).

  3. Click the Options button.
  4. In the Options (Virtual-Mode) window:
    1. Click to select the Allow VNC Viewers to connect to VNC Server checkbox.
    2. Click the Configure button.
  5. On the Users tab in the Permissions for VNC Server window:
    1. Click the Add User button and enter the user's iPlant username.
    2. Click a different user and then click the user's name again.
    3. Click the Full access checkbox.
    4. Click OK and then click Close.

Removing a user from a shared VNC session

  1. In the VNC window, click the VNC Server (Virtual Mode) icon in the upper right of the window.
  2. Click the Options button.
  3. Click the Configure button.
  4. Click the user whose VNC session you want to terminate and then click the Remove User button.
  5. Click OK two times and then click Close.

When you are done with your shared session, you may want to terminate the VNC session.

  • No labels